A Memoir Full Online



Her new memoir, Unwifeable, is the filthiest - and most moving - fairy tale you'll ever read. If you ever watched Sex and the City and thought, "Huh, what is it like writing about your relationships?" — you need to read this book. I've never read a memoir so fascinating and honest. Join BookBub to get alerts about free and bargain books like "Unwifeable" in your inbox.

I'm rarely at a loss for words, but I find it difficult to put into words how I feel about Mandy Stadtmiller's memoir, Unwifeable. If you love celebrities, gossip, and reading about a wild woman's journey towards self-love and getting her shit together, Unwifeable is going to be right up your alley.

As she writes, her life had become a cocktail of excess.” With her therapists, Stadtmiller delved into her past and found some plausible explanations for her behavior: Her parents, she writes, both had psychological problems, she was sexually assaulted at a party when she was a teenager, and, later, her parents failed to show sufficient interest in her career.

Upon hearing Faith speak for the first time, Greer-madly in love with her boyfriend, Cory, but still full of longing for an ambition that she can't quite place-feels her inner world light up. And then, astonishingly, Faith invites Greer to make something out of that sense of purpose, leading Greer down the most exciting path of her life as it winds toward and away from her meant-to-be love story with Cory and the future she'd always imagined.

Publisher: New York :, Gallery Books,, 2018. NEW YORK CITY - WALK TO THE CORNER BODEGA AND PICK UP THE NEW YORK POST, THE ULTIMATE TABLOID, RECOGNIZED THE WORLD OVER AS THE PAPER OF RECORD. She turns things around at the end—sort of—and occasional gems of wisdom pop up from time to time, but it never quite makes up for all the insecur This might be the most depressing book I've ever read, and I've read Where the Red Fern Grows.

With hysterical insight, unabashed sexuality, and unprecedented levels of raw, honest pain, Unwifeable is a blisteringly candid” (Sarah Hepola, New York Times bestselling author of Blackout) book that you can't help but respond and relate to—perfect for fans of Amy Schumer and Chelsea Handler.

However, I don't tend to read them as quickly as I read fiction books. Mandy Stadtmiller is a columnist and comedian who has written for New York magazine, the New York Post, the Washington Post, TimeOut, Maxim, Penthouse, and many more. This is a redemption story that is still very much being worked on. Mandy Stadtmiller is a talented writer, when she's being honest with her readers and herself.

The writing style itself is functional but gets lost in the sex and the city convoluted narrative arc that highlights-rather than personal growth-a consistent trend of first world problems wherein Stadtmiller attempts to come across as an everywoman but instead secures her place as an unrelatable person who happens to be a proficient writer.

For every time some anonymous xoJane commenter might pop out of the woodwork to tell me that I was a garbage person or disgusting or gross or embarrassing, there would be an email from a reader who said that my honesty about a difficult or humiliating experience made them feel less crazy and alone.

From the popular, fresh, funny, and highly readable” (Bustle) dating columnist for New York magazine and the New York Post comes a whirlwind memoir recounting countless failed romances and blackout nights, told with Mandy Stadtmiller's unflinching candor and brilliant wit.

Thanks to the publisher for providing an advance I remember reading Mandy Stadtmiller's pieces in the NY Post around 10 years ago so I really was excited to try this but the first couple chapters just weren't grabbing me. She's an incredibly good storyteller, and I'm definitely glad I read the book even though I had never heard of her before.

I just pitched Unwifeable to go on the Howard Stern Show, and I think that's the only time I've bullet-pointed the memoir in a salacious tell-all way, because I am at heart a realist, and I don't think Howard Stern is going to book me for all of my meditations about the ‘child ego state' versus the ‘adult ego state' or whatever.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *